It again sounds like you guys are super busy and up and
doing things!
This week has been pretty crazy. We taught 15 lessons and
have 0 progressing investigators! It's kinda sad. It IS the most productful
week we've had, but so many of our investigators have just stagnated.
Largely because (as I finally put this together yesterday)
they were not invited to be baptized during the first lesson. And Elder Johnson
just turns all our visits into social ones with maybe a spiritual thought at
the end. It's frustrating. He's super good with talking to people....just
forgets why he's talking to them. He doesn't accept correction very well, which
is understandable, but he needs to be put with someone who has been out for
much longer. That's the biggest problem. Just because he knows how long I've
been out he doesn't trust me as his trainer. He's got a lot of maturing to do.
He is VERY much like Kyle, but I'd say he's more rude and antagonistic.
Sometimes he's my favorite companion, but other times I just want to throttle
him!
(Figure of speech of course). His training is almost
finished, but hopefully, as I said before, he will soon be put with an older
missionary so he can learn better. It's kind of weird that you got a letter
from President just recently.....I've been training for 5 weeks now.....so
maybe I'm going to train again! That would be exciting! But president Taggart
is pretty awesome like that!
I spent $400 on bike stuff because at first I was using
an old Nike. I had to buy a new rim and tube and straighten some tires out.
Then I just got a new one because it was kind of like our old green van. I was
just going to spend a lot of money continually fixing it. So I just bought one
from another elder. It's better and it came with lights and an odometer. So now
I'm going to sell the old one to try to get some money back. My area is about 6
square miles and biking is DEFINITELY better than walking. It's population is
similar to that of Burke. The roads are worse (condition wise) and so are the
drivers.
One time it rained and one of the officers in our Ward
said he was at the scene of at least 2 dozen accidents.
It's awesome that you were able to talk to some people
about the Gospel! Unfortunately that is what almost all of our investigators
are like. Either that or they are just nice and love the 'spiritual messages'
we share. That's one of the concerns I talked about Elder Johnson with last
night. Most of our lessons are social visits with a spiritual thought, so we
are going to start all over with everyone.
That's why it's important to invite someone to be
baptized in the first lesson. If not, you become a support group that comes by
to share uplifting messages. For example, last night we tried to teach a guy
named Chris, but all Elder Johnson did was talk to him about the Seahawks game
and sports. THATS WHY NONE OF OUR INVESTIGATORS ARE PROGRESSING!!!!! And that's
just the way Johnson is. He's the party animal, so he just wants to 'have fun'
and not the sharing the gospel kind of fun. But back to the people that are
morons! Wish people like that I take the approach of, 'We're not just going
around sharing a feel good message about how Jesus has saved you. We are
sharing the message of the restore gospel of Jesus Christ and you will be held
accountable for rejecting it.' Or, 'we're not trying to get you to join our
church. We're inviting you to join the kingdom of God that has been restored
again to the earth.' Or something similar to that.
It makes people very uncomfortable, which I don't really
mind at all!
It's incredible how true Helaman 12:19 is! People are so
used to following satan that they are uncomfortable feeling the spirit! They
are angry when we are bold and have deaf ears when we are not! Your prayers are
very much appreciated, but if you could pray for our investigators, that would
be awesome. Pray for the Lord to soften their hearts and to change their
attitudes. I love you all! I'm going to try to send a late CHRISTMAS package to
you guys. I think all of you will love what I'm going to send!
Elder Hunter
P.S. Pictures to come later today! Hopefully.
No comments:
Post a Comment